Supercomputing Challenge Winners - 2008

A total of \$70,000 in individual scholarships — \$50,000 from Los Alamos' Computer, Computational, and Statistical Sciences (CCS) Division — were awarded on Tuesday at Los Alamos. The top amount of \$10,000 was awarded to Punit Shah of Albuquerque Academy who plans on attending U Penn or MIT.

Scholarship winners, their high school and their college choice:

Alan Benalil, Socorro High, NM Tech Danielle Charley, Navajo Prep, Northern Arizona University Phillip de La Rosa Artesia High, Eastern Tracey Franklin, Artesia High, Rice, Dartmouth Sarah Garduno, McCurdy School, NMSU Jayson Lynch, Sandia Prep, MIT or Cal Tech Jessica MacKinnon, Artesia High, NMSU Brandon Oselio, Albuquerque Academy, ASU, NMSU Vlado Ovtcharov, Albuquerque Academy, UNM Daniel Pedro, Santa Fe Indian School, UNM Punit Shah, Albuquerque Academy, U Penn or MIT Alex Sifuentes, Artesia High, Eastern Omar Soliman, Socorro High, NM Tech Miguela Trujillo, McCurdy School, NMSU

First Year Teacher Awards

Jose Quiroz of Artesia, Maureen Psaila-Dombrowski, LeAnne Salazar-Montoya, Andrea Spence and Zeynep Unal, all of Los Alamos.

Los Alamos National Laboratory Environmental Award

Team 16, Barranca Mesa Elementary, Global Warning: It's Not Cool, <u>Team Members</u>: George Barnum, Eric Begnaud, Mohit Dubey, Ben Liu, Mengzhe Zhao, <u>Teacher</u>: Andrea Spence, <u>Project Mentor</u>: Dr. Michael L. Begnaud

Best Written Report

Team 82, Sandia Prep, Comparing Numerical Integration Methods, <u>Team Members</u>: Alex Clement, Amy Clement, Greg Fenchel, Jeff Fenchel, Jayson Lynch, <u>Teacher</u>: Neil McBeth, <u>Project Mentor</u>: Mark Smith

Best HTML Version of a Final Report Award

Team 15, Aspen Elementary, Cryptography Studies, <u>Team Members</u>: Dhaivat Pandya, Colin Redman, Matthew Ticknor, <u>Teacher</u>: Zeynep Unal, <u>Project Mentor</u>: Elizabeth Cooper

Community Focus Award

Team 90, Socorro High, The Unbeatable Speed Limit, <u>Team Members</u>: Omar Soliman, Alan Benalil, Mariah Deters, Carly Nowicki, <u>Teacher</u>: Bala Settu, <u>Project Mentor</u>: LD Landis

Best Use of StarLogo Award from Santa Fe Institute

Team 59, Los Alamos Middle, River Otters and Their Effect on Riverine Ecosystems, <u>Team Members</u>: Thomas Henderson, Johnny Jacobs, Steven McCrory, Jack Mockler, Simon Redman, Marie-Luise

Schmidt, Teacher: Le-Ann Salazar, Project Mentor: Rueben Guadiana

Best Challenge Process

Team 42, Freedom High, Cosmic Shooting Gallery, <u>Team Members</u>: Tanner Wood, Ryan Mayfield, Matt Royo, <u>Teacher</u>: Joseph Vertrees

Science is Fun!

Team 83, Sandia Prep, Modeling the Hydrogen Atom, <u>Team Members</u>: Alessandra Anderson, Kaitlyn Hughes, <u>Teacher</u>: Neil McBeth, <u>Project Mentor</u>: Robert Anderson

Students' Choice

Team 59, Los Alamos Middle, River Otters and Their Effect on Riverine Ecosystems, <u>Team Members</u>: Thomas Henderson, Johnny Jacobs, Steven McCrory, Jack Mockler, Simon Redman, Marie-Luise Schmidt, <u>Teacher</u>: Le-Ann Salazar, <u>Project Mentor</u>: Rueben Guadiana

Teachers' Choice

Team 68, Melrose High, Oryx Populations at White Sands Missile Range, <u>Team Members</u>: Kyle Jacobs, Richard Rush, Randall Rush, <u>Teacher</u>: Alan Daugherty, <u>Project Mentor</u>: Rebecca Raulie

Best Professional Presentation

Team 48, Jackson Middle, Home Remedies V.S Prescriptions, <u>Team Members</u>: Matt Jannakos, Chris Winter, Nick Shortencarier, <u>Teacher</u>: Mrs. Glennon, <u>Project Mentor</u>: Dale Henderson, Betsy Fredrick, Nick Bennett

High Performance Award from Cray Inc.

Team 49, La Cueva/Saint Pius X, An Analysis of Direct Simulation Monte Carlo And Its Application to Simulating Supersonic Shockwaves, <u>Team Members</u>: Tony Huang, Erika DeBenedictis, <u>Project Mentor</u>: Dr. Erik DeBenedictis, Dr. Dan H. Huang, Dr. Michail Gallis

Internet Research Award from the Council for Higher Education Computing Services, Inc.

Team 81, Rio Rancho Mid-High, Modeling the NASA Dawn Ion Propulsion Spacecraft, <u>Team</u> <u>Members</u>: Destiny Tamboer, Ryan Cortez, Jerett Jones, Luis Maura, Alissandra Rogers, <u>Teacher</u>: Debra Loftin, <u>Project Mentor</u>: Nick Bennett

Best Teamwork

Team 59, Los Alamos Middle, River Otters and Their Effect on Riverine Ecosystems, <u>Team Members</u>: Thomas Henderson, Johnny Jacobs, Steven McCrory, Jack Mockler, Simon Redman, Marie-Luise Schmidt, <u>Teacher</u>: Le-Ann Salazar, <u>Project Mentor</u>: Rueben Guadiana

Special Mentor Award

The Jackson Middle School teams presented Nick Bennett with a Starbucks gift card for all the help and support he has given them this year.

Best Technical Poster

Team 61, Los Alamos Middle, Turn Up the Heat, Energy Efficiency through Smart Wall Design, <u>Team</u> <u>Members</u>: Rachel Robey, Jessie Bohn, <u>Teacher</u>: LeAnn Salazar, <u>Project Mentor</u>: Robert Robey This design will appear on the cover of the 2008-09 Final Reports Publication.

New Logo Winners

Team 85, Santa Fe Indian School, Scan of the Past II, <u>Team Members</u>: Vanessa Keetso, Daniel Pedro, <u>Teacher</u>: Rhonda Ward-Martinez, Sally Phelps, <u>Project Mentor</u>: Stephen Guerin Their design will appear on all Supercomputing Challenge graphics for the next school year.

Creativity and Innovation Award from Sandia National Laboratories

Team 85, Santa Fe Indian School, Scan of the Past II, <u>Team Members</u>: Vanessa Keetso, Daniel Pedro, <u>Teacher</u>: Rhonda Ward-Martinez, Sally Phelps, <u>Project Mentor</u>: Stephen Guerin

New Mexico Network for Women in Science and Engineering Award

Team 55, Los Alamos High, Polar Warming, <u>Team Members</u>: Shelby Anderson, Emily TenCate, <u>Teacher</u>: Diane Medford, <u>Project Mentor</u>: Mark Anderson, James TenCate

Computer Forensics & Encryption Award

Team 15, Aspen Elementary, Cryptography Studies, <u>Team Members</u>: Dhaivat Pandya, Colin Redman, Matthew Ticknor, <u>Teacher</u>: Zeynep Unal, <u>Project Mentor</u>: Elizabeth Cooper

Senator Jeff Bingman's Middle School Award

Presented to Project GUTS The Challenge's Middle School Arm Irene Lee, with Nick Bennett, Celia Einhorn, Betsy Frederick, Lisa Goldman, Alexis Kaminsky Greg Malone, Maureen Psaila-Dombrowski, Paige Prescott, Josh Thorpe, and Talaya White

CHECS Random Door Prize

Nathan Thai of Team 3 from Albuquerque Academy won a \$500 door prize for finishing the Challenge and participating in the Expo and Awards Ceremony.

Governor's Award

Presented to Bob Robey, LANL, a tireless champion for the Challenge!

Third Place

Team 2, Albuquerque Academy, Nanoscale Self-Assembly, <u>Team Members</u>: Michael Wang and Ari Shaw-Faber, <u>Teacher</u>: Jim Mims, <u>Project Mentor</u>: Yifeng Wang, Ph.D

Second Place

Team 61, Los Alamos Middle, Turn Up the Heat, Energy Efficiency through Smart Wall Design, <u>Team</u> <u>Members</u>: Rachel Robey, Jessie Bohn, <u>Teacher</u>: LeAnn Salazar, <u>Project Mentor</u>: Robert Robey

First Place

Team 49, La Cueva/Saint Pius X, An Analysis of Direct Simulation Monte Carlo And Its Application to Simulating Supersonic Shockwaves, <u>Team Members</u>: Tony Huang, Erika DeBenedictis, <u>Project Mentor</u>: Dr. Erik DeBenedictis, Dr. Dan H. Huang, Dr. Michail Gallis